Race 4 Achievement provides educational funding for deserving high school students through scholarships funded by generous donors and the proceeds from our annual #Race4Wanza Doughnut Dash 5K. Links to scholarship applications are below.

Your contribution to the Tywanza Sanders Scholarship Fund helps provide educational funding for deserving high school students in and around the Charleston, SC community.

Pictured above: Tywanza with R4A board member, Michele Gray

Tywanza Sanders Scholarship

Each year, the Tywanza Sanders Scholarship Fund provides pathways to education and academic excellence for students throughout many areas in the Carolinas. Formerly known as the Race for Achievement Scholarship, the Tywanza Sanders Scholarship was named after Tywanza, whose life was tragically lost on June 17, 2015, in the massacre that took nine parishioners’ lives at Mother Emanuel AME Church in Charleston, SC.

TyWanza Sanders Scholarship Fund Recipients

2023 – Briana Edwards (James Island Charter High School)
2023 – Briana Holmes (West Ashley High School)
2023 – Adam Valle (Burke High School)
2022 – Tiana Ramsey-Gathers (James Island Charter High School)
2022 – Tayshawn Brown (Burke High School)
2022 – Evonna Kinloch (West Ashley High School)
2020 – Maya Lucas (James Island Charter High School)
2019 – Sheniah Everson (Burke High School)
2019 – Alexis Wood (James Island Charter High School)
2019 – Kamren Shine (West Ashley High School)
​2018 – Oddessey McDonald (Burke High School)
2018 – Emily A. Corley (James Island Charter High)
2018 – Jacaila A. Geddis (West Ashley High School)
2017 – Terry Gladden Jr. (Burke High School)
2017 – Destiny Jamison (James Island Charter High School)
2016 – Naiomi Mendez-Sosa (Burke High School)
2016 – Maya Whaley (James Island Charter High School)
2015 – Henry James Harris (James Island Charter High School)

Click on your school logo below to access the scholarship application.

Daniel Stern Citadel Scholarship

This annual scholarship was first awarded in 2019 and will be awarded annually to a minority high school graduate from the Charleston area who will be attending The Citadel. This scholarship honors and acknowledges all of the efforts provided by Daniel Stern to our organization. Daniel is a graduate of The Citadel and helped establish the annual #Race4Wanza Doughnut Dash 5K.

Click The Citadel logo to access the scholarship application.

Malik Samir Werts Scholarship Recipients
2023 – Carsyn Smith
2022 – Jada Fickling

Malik Samir Werts Scholarship

Founded in 2020, the Malik Samir Werts Scholarship is awarded annually to a graduate of Charleston County School of the Arts. This scholarship is awarded in the loving memory of Malik, who was tragically lost to gun violence on January 31, 2020. A gifted artist, brother, friend, son, cousin and entrepreneur, Race 4 Achievement had the honor of Malik designing our 2020 #Race4Wanza T-shirt. We continue to carry out his legacy by providing opportunities for other gifted youths in our community.

Click the Charleston County School of the Arts logo to access the scholarship application.

USC Upstate Alumni Sponsored Scholarship Fund

This Race 4 Achievement Scholarship was established in 2021 at the University of South Carolina Upstate and is funded by alumni. This scholarship provides financial assistance to students from historically and socio-economically disadvantaged communities who demonstrate leadership, academic achievement, and an affinity for USC Upstate. Interested student applicants must be rising sophomores, juniors, or seniors with a minimum 2.3 GPA. This scholarship awards up to $1,000.

Click the USC Upstate logo to access the scholarship application.

USC Upstate Logo

Scholarships Info

Currently, scholarships are awarded to students graduating from James Island Charter High School, Burke High School, West Ashley High School, Charleston County School of the Arts, and a Charleston area graduating senior attending The Citadel. For more information, please contact Dominique Gray at: